Columbus Day Grand Gala

Each year the Italian American Community Center gathers to celebrate the contribution Italian Americans have made in our community.


The special event is filled with great food, drink,music and fun. The event is open to the public.

Annual Columbus Day Grand Gala

Darius Shanifar Receives Italian Spirit Award

(left to right) IACC President Frank Zeoli, Hon. Darius Shahinfar, and IACC Foundation President Jim Sano.

Thomas DiNapoli receives the Italian American of the Year Award

(left to right) IACC President Frank Zeoli, Hon. Thomas DiNapoli and IACC Foundation President Jim Sano.

Annual Awards


Italian American of the Year

This annual award is given to someone who is of Italian American decent and who has made significant contributions to their community. What we say about this honoree is “Look at them","look at what they have accomplished, "They are one of us”, "They are an Italian American".


Italian Spirit Award

Each year the IACC bestows on someone, not necessarily of Italian American decent, the Italian Spirit Award. This award is given to someone who embodies the Italian Spirit and who has made a difference in the lives of Italian Americans.


Presidents Award

The recipient of the Presidents Award is chosen solo by the current IACC President and is given to an individual who has exhibited exemplary leadership and volunteer service, dedication and devotion to the I.A.C.C.


Pasquale Tirino Service Award

The Pasquale Tirino Award is named for Charter Member Pasquale Tirino who was our beloved and long tenured, daily, volunteer manager of our outside facilities. In his name this award recognizes those individuals for their many years of service and commitment to the I.A.C.C.


Cuore de Oro Award

This award is given in celebration of those club members who have made significant contributions to this organization by giving of themselves unselfishly. They always put others first, go the extra mile and are always ready to help out.



2024 Columbus Day Grand Gala

October 19, 2024 | 5:30PM

Columbus Day Grand Gala 2023
IACC logo


On Saturday, October 21, 2023, the IACC celebrated our 50th Anniversary at our Annual Columbus Day Grand Gala.  Almost 250 of our members and guests ate well, drank well, and danced the night away in celebration of our Italian heritage.


We honored the Honorable Thomas DiNapoli, NYS Comptroller, as our Italian American of the Year.  We also awarded the Italian Spirit Award to the Honorable Darius Shahinfar.  IACC member awards were given to Past President Angelo Tarantino, who was awarded the President’s Award; Anthony "Tony" Fazio received the Pasquale Tirino Service Award; and Sharon Patrei was given the Heart of Gold Award.


The event was a testament to the Italian spirit being alive and well at the IACC.  Plans are underway for next year’s gala on Saturday, October 19, 2024. 

Past Columbus DayGrand Gala's

Thank You to our sponsors
Thank You to our sponsors